Tuesday, July 24, 2012

"Dark Knight" toward a Bright Future

On the morning of July 20th, I expressed via Facebook:

Angst about Aurora. I read prayers & condolences being extended by friends on FB I love and treasure. GREAT! And yet, find myself unable to understand why *this* news about *this* violence arouses people - when this level of violence is a daily reality in all too many regions of the world & we ignore it. Why can't our willingness to work for a better world include every victim of violence, everywhere?

As is typical in our world, persons commented in both dis-agreement and agreement.

I noted later that evening of July 20th:

I wonder what the world would be like if everyday we all awoke to condemn that day's violence, intentionally engaging solidarity in action with those whose lives are shattered. I hope for and have been working toward that possibility.

This morning, July 24th, I read refreshing words in harmony with these thoughts, and I'm thankful for them.

Please click on this link and read the extended reflection by John Bear:  "Turning Towards Nonviolence and Away from 'Dark Knights'"

Rev. John Dear
Rev. John Dear is an author, activist and lecturer who teaches nonviolence in the tradition of Mahatma Gandhi, Martin Luther King, Jr., and Dorothy Day. He served for years as the director of the Fellowship of Reconciliation, the largest interfaith peace organization in the U.S. After September 11, 2001, he was a Red Cross coordinator of chaplains at the Family Assistance Center in New York, and counseled thousands of relatives and rescue workers. John has traveled the war zones of the world, been arrested some 75 times for peace, led Nobel Peace prize winners to Iraq, and given thousands of lectures on peace across the U.S. His many books include: The God of Peace; Transfiguration; Lazarus, Come Forth!; You Will Be My Witnesses; Living Peace; Seeds of Nonviolence; The Questions of Jesus; Put Down Your Sword; Our God Is Nonviolent; Jesus the Rebel; Peace Behind Bars; Disarming the Heart, and his autobiography, A Persistent Peace.

Posted via email from Eupan Global Initiative

No comments:

Post a Comment